Announcing the 2018 Minnesota Inline Grand Prix

Posted: June 4, 2018 by Admin in Inline

Hosted by

2018 Minnesota Inline Grand Prix

The Minnesota Inline Grand Prix Series (hereinafter “MIGP” or “Grand Prix”) is a fun and friendly way to compare yourself to other inline skaters.  The Grand Prix seeks to maintain and increase participation in the sport of inline speedskating.  The MIGP scores your performance against fellow skaters throughout the inline season.  Skaters four best races will count toward their final standings.  Full rules can be found below.  The inline events that will make up the 2018 Minnesota Inline Grand Prix are the following:

2018 Minnesota Inline Grand Prix Events

How the series works:

1. The Minnesota Inline Grand Prix (MIGP) series in run by InlineSkateMpls LLC and is free. Money is not exchanged or distributed in any way, nor is money earned from this series.  This series is independent of the races, and the races are independent of the series.  Being in the MIGP series does not include entry into any races in the series.  You do not need to register for the MIGP series; if you participate in one of the above races, you may be in the series.

2.  Scoring:

    • Marathon:  Points are awarded based on an event’s official times (to the extent they are deemed accurate by InlineSkateMpls).  The first place MIGP skater in each race will score 1,000 points.  All others earn points based upon the percentage of time back of the first place finisher.  Points are awarded without regard to age division or sex.
    • Half Marathon, 10k, and shorter:  Skaters score points according to their finish place out of all racers.  The first MIGP skater in each race will score 1,000 points.  All others will score based upon the percentile in which the MIGP skaters finish such that the middle finisher will score 500 points.  The MIGP will presume a minimum of 75 entrants.  Points are awarded without regard to age division or sex.

3. Only a skater’s 4 highest event scores will count.  Anyone racing in 4 or fewer races will have all of their scores included.

  • Skaters who do not compete in one of the first two events may or may not be included in future MIGP calculations.
  • Skaters do not change age divisions during the year.
  • Participants will be vying for the honor of being identified as the best and to make the prestigious Top 25.

4. While some events have both full & half marathons only the longest event will be counted in the Grand Prix totals.

5.  AF Rule: In the event of a tie at the top of the MIGP Final Standings, the following tie breakers will decide the overall winner: The skater with the Most Race Wins; if there is still a tie then: Of each skaters four scores that are counted toward each skaters point total, the skater with the lowest total amount of time behind the winner will be declared champion.  (Remember in a marathon more than one skater can score 1000 points).  If there is still a tie then Co-Champions are declared.

6. CE Rule: participants have two weeks from the posting of an event’s MIGP scores to contest the results.  After two weeks results are deemed final.

7. Obligatory legal clause:  All content provided on this blog is for informational purposes only. The owner of this blog makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site or found by following any link on this site. The owner will not be liable for any errors or omissions in this information nor for the availability of this information. The owner will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information. All information on this site is subject to applicable copyright, trademark, and related intellectual property rights and may not be copied, used, taken, or otherwise infringed.  InlineSkateMpls reserves the right to modify the rules as need.  All decisions by Inlineskatempls, LLC are final.

Previous MIGP Winners:

2017: Steve Meisinger and Hannah (Hendrickson) Vanasse

2016: Kelin Dunfee and Hannah Hendrickson

2015: Kelin Dunfee and Kara (Peterson) Parker

2014: Steffan Howard and Kara (Peterson) Parker

2013: David Sarmiento and Kara Peterson

2012: David Sarmiento and Melissa Dahlmann

2011: David Sarmiento and Kara Peterson

2010:  Mike Anderson and Kara Peterson

2009: David Sarmiento and Kara Peterson

2008: Mike Anderson and Kara Peterson

Previous Seasons:

Comments are closed.